Get Out Of Your Head!

Depressed Man Portrait

I am an unfathomable over-thinker.  I am the kind of person who just can’t seem to turn that brain off.  While it is good to think things through before making critical decisions in life, our thoughts can also get in the way and prevent us from rising to our potential.  I find that my mind can be my best friend or my worst enemy in all situations.  And so today, I encourage you to set your soul free and let your mind be at ease.

There comes a point in life when we need to stop and ask ourselves if what we are thinking and or worrying about will benefit us or another individual in any way.  Often, the answer will be no.  If so, it is time to let go.  As an English proverb once stated, “Worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair.  It gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere.”  Our thoughts are likely to become reality, so the more we think good thoughts, the better off we will be.

As an overthinker and absolute worry-wort, I know how difficult it is to let go.  I think the most difficult part of my yoga practice is learning how to just be.  Yet, it is the simplest thing a person can possibly do.  All we have to do is BREATHE!

It will take time and practice, but I truly believe that we can all improve our ability to let go and rid ourselves of at least some of our negative thoughts and fears.  A few months ago, I used the following mantra in a blog post: Today I choose to let go of that which I cannot control.  This is the perfect opportunity to practice this mantra again.  You are capable of ALL things.  And once you begin to tell yourself that and destroy those negative thoughts in your head, transformation WILL occur.  So give yourself a chance to let go, and be prepared to dominate.  I’ll be cheering you on!  Happy Friday, my friends.  Namaste.

Enjoy your weekend and feel free to add any comments or questions below!  Thank you for reading!

Kristen

Leave a Reply

