Purpose

16836100_1977684675788524_2550434143845093502_o

Roaming through the city, I took a deep breath, gazed at the twinkling lights all around me, and knew this is where I am meant to be.

            Ah, what a beautiful world we live in.  Each day offering an abundance of opportunities and a chance to start fresh.  We often forget about how fortunate we are.  Sometimes, too, our current situations reflect how we approach our daily lives.  For instance, when we go through hardships, we may be more unwilling to embrace life for what it is, especially if we lack hope that it will ever get better.  This is where I’m coming from.

We all go through our series of ups and downs in life, and these past few months have seemed a bit more on the down side for me.  In this, I feel as though I lost a great amount of hope, wondering if things will ever get better.  I have found myself asking “when will life become enjoyable again?” And then I went to NYC this past week…

A change in setting can be a wonderful thing sometimes, especially when you visit your favorite place in the whole world.  For me this place is New York City.  I could probably go on for days about how much I love the fast-paced walking, the big buildings and architecture, and the tremendous amount of diversity that comes along with being in the “city that never sleeps.”

While on my mini-vacation with my parents, we visited five different colleges, ate fantastic food, and enjoyed exploring and making new memories together.  It certainly was a week that I will never forget, especially as it marked the start of planning the next four years of my life.

I could not be more grateful for the experiences I had this past week, especially as I think I have already found my top three schools that I would like to apply to my upcoming senior year.  In exploring these beautiful campuses, I felt a spark inside my heart.  A fire within my soul, telling me this is my future.  I feel like I’ve found a purpose again.  A reminder to keep going, to finish strong, because in the next year this is where I’m going to be. 

I also learned a lot about myself this past week.  I found a good idea of what it is I’m looking for.  I found within me a deep, passionate desire to serve the community.  A desire to connect with other people and make lasting relationships.  A desire to travel, and explore the wonders of the world.

Why am I telling all of this to you?  Because I want you to know that YOU have a purpose.  You were put into this world because YOU can make your mark. Purpose comes from passion and the things that mean the most to you.  When you find what you love to do and what it is you value most, you will discover your purpose.  And from there, you will find great focus and determination to make the most of every day, regardless of the challenges you face along the way.  So, work hard and live passionately in pursuit of your dreams, as Richard Leider once said, “the purpose of life is a life of purpose.”

What gives YOU purpose? What do YOU stand for?  Share in the comments below!  Thanks for reading.

Namaste.

One thought on “Purpose

Leave a Reply

