A Yogic State of Mind

yoga

Happy New Year, my friends!  Here we meet 2017 and hope for a peaceful, prosperous upcoming year. 

            As I stand on my purple yoga mat, I think about what an amazing gift yoga really is.  Oh, how I wish I could dedicate my life to yoga.

            But then, again, maybe I can.  I’ve thought a lot about what my resolutions should be this year and I realize not much about myself has changed.  I’m still working hard and trying to find my place in this world.  And I haven’t quite found it yet.

            However, one thing I know for sure is that in the upcoming year and the following to come I want to bring more kindness and peace to this world.  And with the mindful practice of yoga, these two things seem to grow more and more, hand in hand.

            When I take the time to think about what yoga is and what it means to me, I realize that it is a practice both on and off the mat.  Yoga is more than a physical process.  Yoga is a constant journey.

            Like yoga, life is a journey too.  Life has its stream of ups and downs. Through a yogic state of mind, we learn to live mindfully, even with the hardships.  The hardest part about yoga in my mind is not the postures themselves, but learning to just be, to live in the present moment and take things as they come.  From this grows an infinite amount of peace that we can share with those around us.

            And so today I state my only resolution of 2017.  I am not here to promise that I will become a whole new person and I am also not here to encourage you to change yourself.  But this year, I strive to live in a yogic state of mind both on and off the mat.  When times get hard or things don’t go as planned, we can rely on this mindset to maintain our inner peace and remember to live with the flow.  For “what’s meant to be will always find its way.”

Namaste.

Kristen

Leave a Reply

