Why You Should Care

resize

 

Have you ever gotten so frustrated about something or someone in your life that you just gave up and said you didn’t care anymore?  Or have you ever been around someone who acted this way?  I have experienced both scenarios, though I know this is not the way anyone should handle a difficult situation.  Unfortunately, though, this careless attitude seems to becoming more common these days.  Nevertheless, it IS important that we care not only about the things we enjoy in life, but also the things that are more challenging for us to endure.

I try to keep a positive attitude at all times, but to be completely honest, there are still some things that I fail to understand or want to do.  I know I will probably never enjoy swimming at school or taking tests.  However, it is still important for me to try my best at the things I don’t enjoy doing and care about them. Why, you may ask?  Because these things that don’t seem important to us now will most likely affect our future and may even affect the people around us.  For example, although I don’t like taking tests, those test scores will be having a major impact on the colleges I get accepted to.  Additionally, although I am not a very good swimmer and I don’t like being cold and wet afterwards, I know the tremendous amount of effort the teachers put into educating others so that they can swim and learn techniques that could help them survive in a potentially dangerous situation later on in life.  And why would teachers do this?  Because they care.  We all are passionate about different things, but I think it’s important for us to recognize and care at least a little bit about the things people do to live their lives and help others.

I think the main reason you should care about anything is to learn how to accept reality.  Although some situations can prove to be a real pain in the butt to deal with, we have to be able to face them in order to move on.  We have to be able to truly feel our emotions and not push them to the side.  By saying we don’t care about something, we are denying ourselves of our success and probably over time, our happiness as well.  In order to live life to its utmost potential, we have to care about both the good and the bad.

It’s hard to care about the things we don’t like, especially when these things get in the way of what we DO like. But caring is just something we have to do if we want to truly be happy.  This is a mind over matter situation.  Caring is telling yourself: “Okay, this may not be easy, this may not be fun, but I am going to try my best because I care about my future and the people around me.  I accept this challenge.”  If you are having a difficult time caring about a certain part of your life right now, then here is my advice to you:  Just put your heart and soul into everything you do because in the end your hard work will pay off and you are going to gain a tremendous amount of strength and wisdom along the way.  Caring is living!  So let’s go out and live our lives. 🙂

What do you care most about in life?  I look forward to reading what you have to say in the comments below!  Thank you for reading.

Namaste.

Kristen

Leave a Reply

