O Christmas Tree

C269A319-6002-4E7F-B14D-4258D6648C7A

Hello everyone!  Happy Friday!  There are only six days until Christmas!  Can you believe it?  I sure can’t!  This is my absolute favorite time of year.  There are so many fun things to do, I wish I could make time for it all!  Something I always make time for, though, is getting the family Christmas tree.  It is a seemingly simple tradition, yet there is so much meaning to it.  Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without it.

Every year, I go with my family to cut down our family Christmas tree.  It’s funny how valuable these little moments can be.  While we get the tree, we take family pictures and get to spend time being goofy together.  I think that is one of my favorite parts about getting the tree, just the joy we share with one another and the memories that are made.  To me, when we get the tree, it symbolizes that the Christmas season has officially begun.

One thing I love about getting the Christmas tree is decorating it.  I cherish the bright lights and beautiful ornaments along with the sparkling tinsel or garland.  When I decorate the tree, I like to put Christmas music on and enjoy the fun time spent with those around me.  Decorating the tree really puts me into the holiday spirit and it always looks beautiful when it is done!

Have you ever thought about how many memories a single ornament could hold?  Each ornament has its own story to be shared with those around us this Christmas season.  Perhaps it is an ornament from a previous school you attended, a keepsake from your first household, or a gift given to you by someone special in your life.  I think some ornaments can serve as reminders of how far we have come in our lives.  Perhaps these ornaments are much more than the pretty decorations we see.

Of course with putting up a Christmas tree comes taking it down.  This is my least favorite part about this tradition.  It can be quite depressing to see that Christmas is over.  Instead of looking at it this way, however, we should view it as the beginning of a new year.  We are fortunate enough to be able to experience the joy of Christmas, but this joy does not have to end when Christmas does.  We should make it a goal to maintain this wonderful spirit throughout the year.  As Helen Steiner Rice said, “Peace on earth will come to stay, when we live Christmas every day”.

My family Christmas tree is part of what makes Christmas so special to me.  Every Christmas tree is different and beautiful in its own way.  Full of memories and special decorations, Christmas trees fill our homes with hope and joy for this special time of year.  As we gather around the tree to take pictures and unwrap thoughtful gifts this upcoming week, let us take the time to appreciate this amazing part of nature that sits in front of us and all the treasures that it holds.  Finally, when the time comes, let us be strong enough to take that happiness that our tree brings us and incorporate that into our daily lives, way beyond this holiday season.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?  Let me know in the comments below or email me in my Contact page!  I hope to hear from you!  Thank you for reading!  I hope you are enjoying the most wonderful time of the year! 

Namaste.

Kristen

 

One thought on “O Christmas Tree

Leave a Reply

