Just Be You

dancer

Have you ever been told that you can’t do something?  Have you ever feared that your actions simply won’t be good enough to other people? Me too… Despite all of my words of advice, I worry all the time.  I have an awful tendency to worry about what other people think about me.  I often fear that people will not think I am good enough at the activities that I enjoy so very much.  I wish I could always please everyone.  The reality is, though, that it is just not possible.  Unfortunately, there will always be someone who does not give you the love or attention that you deserve.  You can’t please everyone, but you must not let that keep you from living your life.  Keep your eyes toward the sunshine, my friends, and let those “shadows” of doubt fall behind.

We all have our dreams in this world.  Whether big or small, we deserve to be able to chase our dreams and become the individuals we would like to be.  Things won’t always work out.  Our wants and needs will change over time, as we start to figure out who we really are.  Some dreams, though, will work out.  We will start to discover the things in life that really bring us joy and mean the most to us.  You see, in my eyes, our purpose in life is to find our gifts and talents and to share them with the world.  When we do share the things we love with the world, many will smile and return their love back.  Unfortunately, though, there will always be some that won’t.  Don’t let those people get to you.  You have to do what you love even if it means some people will turn their backs on you.  Your real family members and friends won’t be the ones to do that to you anyways.  Like the great Dr. Seuss once said, “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”.

As I have grown older, I have begun to realize how important it is to live your life the way you want to.  You can (and should) live your life to help others and to share with others, but don’t live your life to please them.  That, my friends, is a battle you will never be able to win.  You have the power to do whatever you wish to do in life.  Dreams just require practice, patience, and determination.  Life is much too short to let others control your life.  Normally, the people that push you down are the ones that aspire to be just like you.  If you are like me, and worry that you will mess up or not be good enough, take that fear and allow it to push you even harder to pursue even your wildest dreams.  Prove the people that doubt you wrong!  It is your life so live the way you want to.  Whatever you do, please just be YOU!

“Be happy. Be Yourself.  If others don’t like it, then let them be.  Happiness is a choice.  Life isn’t about pleasing everybody” (Unknown).

What makes you the person you are today?  Do you think that anyone could ever take that away from you?  Why or why not?  I would love to hear in the comments below or by a personal message in the Contact section of my blog.  Thank you for reading!

Namaste.

Kristen

 

5 thoughts on “Just Be You

  1. Kristin.
    This is beautiful. I agree with mrs patane. So many young (and older) people should read this. Keep writing and inspiring!
    Mrs Chetney. (Claudia’s mom😉)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a wonderful post! I’m so glad you shared it with the world! I’d love to see you involved with the school newspaper. This is something all students should read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

