Top Ten Favorite Christmas Movies

grinch.02

Happy December!!! 🙂  It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  I love getting in  the Christmas spirit!  I love to decorate, listen to Christmas music, give people gifts and watch their faces light up, bake cookies with my family, get the Christmas tree, and, of course, watch Christmas movies!  I must admit I have been enjoying almost all of the Hallmark Christmas movies on television since November!  I don’t think I have ever found a Christmas movie that I don’t enjoy!  To start off this month with a fun blog post, I have compiled a list of my top ten favorite Christmas movies.  I hope you enjoy and possibly find a movie on my list that you haven’t seen yet that you would like to watch this year!  Note: These movies are not in any particular order, that would be much too difficult!

  1. Elf– A hilarious movie about an adult named Buddy that was raised by elves.  He loves the delights of New York City and tries to spread the Christmas spirit wherever he goes.  This movie is sure to make you smile every time you watch it!
  2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation– Another movie that I could watch year round! This is a very funny movie about the Griswold family as they experience the Christmas season!  Whether it is the squirrel running around their house, or Aunt Bethany saying the blessing at the dinner table, you are guaranteed to be laughing by the end of this one!
  3. Home Alone– A movie about a young boy named Kevin who is left home alone  by his family that goes on vacation for the holidays.  Kevin enjoys the time alone at first, but changes his mind when two burglars show up.  Kevin must do everything he can to keep them out of the house.  There are some very entertaining scenes in this movie, but my favorite part is at the end when everyone is happy and together again.  To me, that’s what Christmas is all about!
  4. The Santa Claus-This movie is about a young boy named Charlie and his father named Scott.  When Santa falls off their roof one night, Scott mistakenly decides to try his suit on.  Later, he finds out he will have to take on the roll of Santa Claus.   The sweet bond between Charlie and Scott and Santa’s awesome workshop in this movie just warms my heart and makes me want to be a little kid again!
  5. The Holiday– This is a heartfelt romantic comedy about two women with relationship problems, wishing to get away during the holidays.  They swap homes in two different countries where they each fall in love with a new man.  If you haven’t seen this one yet, you might want to keep a box of tissues close by!
  6. A Year Without A Santa Clause– When Santa is sick on Christmas Eve, Mrs. Claus and the Elves must try to save Christmas.  I absolutely love Heat Miser and Snow Miser in this movie and the classic song that they sing together!
  7. Christmas With The Kranks– When their daughter, Blair, goes away during the holidays, Luther and Nora Krank make the decision to eliminate Christmas all together and instead go on a cruise.  All of their neighbors begin raging at them and demanding them to follow their usual traditions.  However, at the very last minute Blair calls and says she will be coming back home (engaged) on Christmas Eve.  Luther and Nora must do everything they can to make it appear as though they had been celebrating all along.  This movie makes  for a great combination of both funny and sweet!
  8. A Christmas Story– A movie about a boy named Ralphie Parker who so badly desires a special air rifle for Christmas.  This movie reveals the crazy Parker family and all of their holiday experiences.  My family watches this over and over as it is played 24 hours on Christmas Eve!  Between Santa saying “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid” to Ralphie, and the leg lamp that Ralphie’s father receives in the mail, it makes me laugh every time!
  9. The Polar Express– Based on the children’s book, a young boy wakes up at night and hops on an extraordinary train ride to the North Pole.  Full of beautiful music, this movie is all about believing.  It reveals the true spirit of Christmas.
  10. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)– I know many of you probably enjoy the original movie better, but I happen to love the newer version of this movie. (Although, I love both!) This movie is based on the book by Dr. Seuss about a creature who intends to steal Christmas.   Featuring Jim Carrey as the Grinch, this movie is just hysterical! I find the sarcasm so fitting for the Grinch’s role!  Cindy Lou is so adorable in this movie and the ending couldn’t possibly be any better!  I love it!

I hope that this list reminds you of some of your holiday favorites or helps you to choose a new movie to watch!  Grab some popcorn, invite your friends and family, and enjoy the best holiday movies this season!  Even if you don’t really have time, you can just put the movie on in the background while you work. (I do this all the time!)  Holiday movies are sure to get you in the joy of the season!

What are your favorite Christmas movies?  Please share in the comments below or by my Contact page!  I would love to hear so that I can watch some new holiday movies that I have not yet seen!  Share this post with friends and family so that they can watch too!  Thank you for reading!

Namaste.

Kristen

Leave a Reply

