My Top Five Bikram Yoga Poses

ID-100308233

Bikram Yoga is another major part of my life.  I have connected with so many wonderful people at Bikram Yoga.  It is amazing what one can accomplish in the hot yoga room with ninety minutes to theirselves. Bikram Yoga is for everyone.  All 26 postures can be adjusted to your comfort and ability.  No matter how deep you go into the posture, as long as you are doing it correctly, you will receive 100% of the benefits. Every posture in the series has it’s own set of wonderful benefits.  Today I chose to highlight five of my favorite postures and how they will benefit you if you do them. (Featuring my silly drawings! 🙂 )

IMG_2497

Standing Bow Pulling Pose, Dandayamana Dhanurasana

This pose improves balances and stability, tightens muscles in the thighs, chest, arms, hips, and buttocks.  It also helps to improve posture, and flexibility.  It strengthens the spine, legs, hips, and shoulders.  This pose is a blessing to me as a dancer!

IMG_2499

Triangle Pose, Trikonasana

We often refer to this posture as the king of all postures in yoga class!  This pose works it all!  This pose works every muscle, joint, tendon, and internal organ in the body.  It also increases strength and flexibility of the hips and torso.  This pose improves posture.  It firms the thighs and hips.  It even improves the deltoid, trepezius, scapula, and latisimus muscles.  What is not to love about this incredible posture???

IMG_2498

Corpse Pose, Savasana

Savasana is actually the most difficult of all 26 Bikram Yoga postures.  On top of returning our blood circulation to normal, it is the only pose in which we must learn to keep everything still.  This pose teaches complete relaxation and it is an invitation for us to experience peace. Plus, who doesn’t love a good excuse to lay down and do absolutely nothing? 🙂

IMG_2496

Bow Pose, Dhanurasana

Bow Pose has similar benefits to Standing Bow Pose.  It also improves the functioning of both the large and small intestines, the liver, kidneys, and spleen.  This pose helps straighten rounded spines, relieves backaches, and improves overall posture to allow us to breathe in more oxygen.  In this pose, all of our spinal nerves are revitalized.  It improves digestion, and our abdominal, arms, thighs, and hip muscles.

IMG_2494

Camel Pose, Utrasana

I saved the best for last!  This is my favorite pose!  This posture stretches the chest, the throat, and the spine.  It is the deepest backward bend we experience during class.  It opens our rib cage and in doing so provides more oxygen for the lungs.  It firms the abdominal muscles, slims the waistline, and relieves any backache we may have.  I really like how this posture just opens me up.  I often feel my emotions deepen as I go into this posture.  If you are used to sitting hunched over in a chair at work all day, this posture will do you wonders!

There is beauty in every Bikram Yoga pose, but today I just thought it would be fun to share my top five favorite poses with all of you to show how valuable the practice of Bikram Yoga is.  Bikram Yoga can help you no matter how old you are or what condition your body is in.  It is a challenge, but as Bikram Yoga says, “the greatest challenge yields the greatest possibility for change”.  Bikram Yoga teaches everyone beautiful breathing exercises and poses that improve our flexibility, strength, and determination.  In Bikram Yoga, we learn to let everything go and to be mindful of others.  We learn an indescribable form of peace that we do our best to share with everyone we come into contact with.  Bikram Yoga is a true example of how to “namaste everyday”!  I am so grateful to be part of such a life changing practice with such an amazing and inspiring community of people.    Bikram Yoga is a decision to live your life fuller, healthier, and happier. I encourage everyone to give it a try.

Do you practice any form of yoga?  If so, what is your favorite pose and how does it benefit you?  If not, what do you do that benefits your body? Post in the comments below or click on my Contact page to email me directly!  Like and share with those you know! Thank you for reading!

Namaste.

Kristen

10 thoughts on “My Top Five Bikram Yoga Poses

  1. Rica@ Yoga Mat Monkey says:

    I’ve had many favorite poses that have come and gone. I’m finding that as I evolve in the practice and my body/soul’s needs change, so do my asanas. That’s the beauty of yoga: it’s wonderfully fluid!

    Like

Leave a Reply

