What Does “Namaste” Mean And Why Should I Say It Everyday?

lotus3N

By definition, namaste is a respectful greeting said when giving a namaskar.  The literal translation means “I bow to you”.  Even so, namaste is much more than a simple greeting to me as you can probably see from the title of my blog.

Traditionally, namaste is incorporated into either the beginning or the end of a yoga class.  Most teachers decide to practice namaste at the end of the yoga class because the mind is more at ease and the energy in the studio is much more peaceful.  Namaste is included into the yoga practice as a symbol of gratitude and respect towards each and every individual in the classroom.  Ideally, namaste symbolizes the fact that we are all one when we decide to let everything go and live from the heart.

Typically, namaste is performed as a gesture with the hands placed together on the heart to represent the spark within us and to acknowledge the soul in one by the soul in another.

In the diverse world and often very judgmental world we live in today, I find it so important to incorporate the word “namaste” into my daily vocabulary.  By saying “namaste”, we are recognizing that we are equal.  We make the decision to honor our similarities and differences no matter what the situation may be.

Namaste is not just about honoring the world around us, but it is also about honoring ourselves.  Namaste is our longest journey inward.  Namaste is all about learning to accept ourselves for who we are and controlling our minds from thinking any differently.  It is not always easy to be 100% confident with ourselves, and I often struggle with confidence myself.  However, through yoga and meditation, I am learning to honor myself as an individual.  Namaste is a powerful word that helps me to find my inner peace.

It is much too simple to judge other people in our society today.  I chose to title this blog “Namaste Everyday” as a reminder that at the end of the day, we are all one and we all deserve to be accepted and appreciated in this world.  We should say namaste to thank others for who they are and remind ourselves of our own importance even when we fail to acknowledge it.  When we embrace the true meaning of namaste, we create the peace in our hearts and peace in our lives that we desire.  I will forever namaste everyday!

What do you do to show your appreciation towards other people?  Do you ever struggle with confidence? If so, how do you deal with it?  Feel free to add any thoughts, comments, or questions below!  Also, don’t forget to check out the “About” page of my blog to learn more about me or click the “Contact” page to send me a message! Thank you for reading! Namaste.

Kristen

3 thoughts on “What Does “Namaste” Mean And Why Should I Say It Everyday?

Leave a Reply

